People turn to Google Maps to make their lives easier — from seeing how crowded a bus will be or when a restaurant is busy to remembering a beach they visited years ago on vacation. These helpful features are possible because of location data. And with Google, managing location data is simple thanks to tools like auto-delete and Incognito mode. Today, we’re introducing new updates to give you even more control over this important, personal information.
Coming soon: Your Timeline saved on your device
The Timeline feature in Maps helps you remember places you’ve been and is powered by a setting called Location History. If you’re among the subset of users who have chosen to turn Location History on (it’s off by default), soon your Timeline will be saved right on your device — giving you even more control over your data. Just like before, you can delete all or part of your information at any time or disable the setting entirely.
If you’re getting a new phone or are worried about losing your existing one, you can always choose to back up your data to the cloud so it doesn’t get lost. We’ll automatically encrypt your backed-up data so no one can read it, including Google.
Additionally, when you first turn on Location History, the auto-delete control will be set to three months by default, which means that any data older than that will be automatically deleted. Previously this option was set to 18 months. If you want to save memories to your Timeline for a longer period, don’t worry — you can always choose to extend the period or turn off auto-delete controls altogether.
These changes will gradually roll out through the next year on Android and iOS, and you’ll receive a notification when this update comes to your account.
Soon your Timeline will be saved right on your device — giving you even more control over your data.
Getting a new phone (or worried you’ll lose yours)? You can choose to back up your data to the cloud — we’ll automatically encrypt it end to end.
Delete activity related to specific places, right from Maps
Say you’re planning a surprise birthday party, and you get directions to a nearby bakery to pick up the cake. Soon, you’ll be able to see all your recent activity on Maps related to the bakery in one central place, and easily delete your searches, directions, visits, and shares with just a few taps. The ability to delete place-related activity from Maps starts rolling out on Android and iOS in the coming weeks.
Soon, you’ll be able to see and delete all your recent activity on Maps related to a place.
Access key location controls right from the blue dot in Maps
The blue dot, which shows where you are on Google Maps, now brings key location controls right to your fingertips. Just tap it, and at a glance, you'll see whether your Location History or Timeline settings are turned on and whether you’ve given Maps access to your device’s location. New blue dot controls start rolling out in the coming weeks on Android and iOS.
Just tap the blue dot and you'll see whether your Location History or Timeline settings are turned on and whether you’ve given Maps access to your device’s location.
Your location information is personal. We’re committed to keeping it safe, private and in your control. Remember: Google Maps never sells your data to anyone, including advertisers. So you can spend less time worrying about your data, and more time exploring new places, getting where you need to go or hanging out with friends — all with the help of Maps.